Fiske’s Erving Craft Wins Tri-State Theatre Association Scholarship

TUNICA, Miss. — Erving Craft, an employee at the Fiske Theatre in Oak Grove, La., was named one of two recipients of the Tri-State Independent Theatre Association’s David Lewis Memorial Scholarship at its annual convention which took place March 12-14 at the Gold Strike Casino in Tunica, Miss.

“We are extremely proud of Erving,” Fiske Theatre President Adam Holland said. “Erving has been working at the theatre for over two years and is an outstanding young man with much potential to do well as he enters the next phase of his life.”

Craft has been an employee of the Fiske Theatre since 2010 working for both the West Carroll Chamber of Commerce and has remained with the theatre since it began being operated by Holland Entertainment in June of 2011.  Craft’s roles at the theatre include Box Office, Usher and Concessioneer.

“I have watched Erving develop and grow into a fine young man over the last few years.” W.C. Chamber President Doug Ainsworth said. “His being selected by our peers in the motion picture industry says a lot for him personally and for the respect that we have gained in our industry since we have been back.”

Craft is the second recipient of this award from the Fiske Theatre.  Patrick Keller was the first recipient of it upon his graduation from Oak Grove High School in 2010.

Erving is the son of Moses and the late Angela Craft of Oak Grove, La. and will graduate from Oak Grove High School this May.  He plans to attend Mississippi College in Clinton, Miss. beginning the fall 2012 semester where he has also received a football scholarship.

In his speech at the convention’s closing banquet Craft said, “I want to thank the West Carroll Chamber, Mr. Adam and the Holland Family for the privilege to work at the Fiske Theatre, and I would especially like to thank the Tri-State Board of Directors and those who contributed to this scholarship for selecting me to receive this award.”

Erving Craft being presented his scholarship at the Annual Tri-State Theatre Association's Banquet by President Bo Wilson.

The Tri-State Independent Theatre Association is comprised of theatre owners and industry professionals from primarily Arkansas, Mississippi and Tennessee, but has now grown to include members from all of the Mississippi River Valley States.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s